Testimonials

Lake Living Consultants did a fantastic job on my house renovation. The project included excavation work, cement foundation including a two car garage, connector from garage to new sun room, new roof, framing, plumbing/heating, electrical, sheetrock, painting, flooring, insulators, gutters, and all hardware. Tyler Mathews was the coordinating general contractor whom oversaw the entire project from the initial design to the completed job. The entire project was done in a timely and professional manner. I highly recommend you consider Lake Living Consultants for your construction project.

- D. Kintz
Mar 27, 2020

We have done multiple projects with LLC, of varying sizes. The latest and largest performed in 2019 was retrimming, rehabbing and residing our house and three car garage. We were very pleased with the results.Tyler preformed on budget and in a timely manner. He supervised and scrutinized his subcontractors in a diligent manner. Tyler is professional, pleasant,respectful and hard working. It is our pleasure to recommend him most highly.

- Dennis Ahern
Mar 24, 2020

The team at Lake Living Consultants has been instrumental building my house in Maine. Above all, they have proven themselves to be fair and reliable. From the beginning they were amenable to my ideas and were a great help with initial designs and best practices for home construction in Maine. Their knowledge of reputable local contractors and selection of materials is highest-quality; Lake Living Consultants can show my house anytime.

- Patrick Seiden
Mar 10, 2020

Building on a lake is a difficult process with permits and waterfront rules. Lake Living Consultants was a tremendous help from the beginning to the end. Throughout the building process Lake Living Consultants (Tyler Mathews) kept all the contractors on schedule. The contractors they used were professional and very helpful and we were pleased with the quality of their work. The final results were amazing, even. better then what we expected. We would highly recommend them for any project but especially any lake front project.

- Joel Tessier
Feb 20, 2020

These guys can do it all; truly one stop shopping! What a great find. Tyler's knowledge of the rules, regulations and ability to effectively navigate the permitting process made building a new house painless, fun and exciting for us. He offered great ideas, was realistic and very accurate with estimates. He was easy to work with and very flexible with his schedule, to accommodate mine. Tyler helped me in every aspect of the project. I trust him greatly and found super value in what we paid them for the services and work received. I look forward to working with him again on other projects. He gets a 10 out of 10.

- David Lane
Feb 11, 2020

Thanks to Tyler and the team at LLC for helping repair the roof at our family camp. They were quick to respond, consistent and clear with their communication and incredibly thorough in the work. We could not be onsite all the time and Tyler was quick to provide photos of the work and I trusted his careful management. Tyler is very well networked and since the completion of the roof has provided several referrals to contractors that have done high quality work at our home. I trust the team at LLC and Tyler and will certainly look forward to working with them on other projects big and small in the future. Thanks!!

- Janet
Jan 24, 2019

Tyler and Scott are the most professional and knowledgeable contractors we've ever met. They transformed the old family camp property into our dream retirement home (a few years early!) Our new home is so much more than we ever imagined it would be. From the design stage through building process and afterward, every change or problem was met with a solution or "this is what we can do, instead". Tyler handled all headaches and the required permitting beautifully. The building schedule established at the beginning of the project was accurate and our home was completed in about 6 months time. The contractors they hired were local and just as knowledgeable and pleasant to work with as they were. The quality of their workmanship and materials is exceptional. We have lake house that we and our family can enjoy for decades to come. I would recommend them to anyone looking to remodel or build a new home. We couldn't be any happier.

- George and Karyn
Jan 19, 2018

I hired Tyler to build a custom garage. From design to build he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The quality of the work was what I expected and in some cases more. I would recommend Tyler and his company.

- Steve Daniels
Dec 15, 2017

Scott and Tyler at Lake Living Consultants did an awesome job rebuilding and updating an indoor pool room for us. During construction they were always just a phone call or text away and very responsive to our concerns and questions. I realize that this job in particular was not an easy one as there were extra challenges with the original building condition, ventilation and humidity control issues. All issues were researched and addressed in a professional manner, and the outcome is awesome :)

- Wentworths - Acton, ME
Dec 4, 2017

First and most important for me was Tyler's ability to understand that I had NO construction experience and only a small idea for a design to expand my camp (circa 1939). Two meetings with Tyler and we had a rough sketch. Groundwork began immediately. The initial frame construction was completed as promised. The final weeks kept pace with my requests. All the work was quality. The transformation was more than I imagined. Tyler is a professional who has dependable contractors, completing all projects on time. Because there was a blending of the old camp with the new addition, some extras were required which meant original budget changed but Tyler made it clear what those changes would cost, leaving me options. I would highly recommend Tyler and Lake Living Consultants.

- Norma Picard
Oct 27, 2017

Tyler and Scott Matthews and Lake Living Consultants exceeded our expectation - from the idea generation on the building plan to the quality of the materials, craftsmanship, service, timeliness, cost, not to mention, he did everything possible to ensure the project was on time, and it was!

Tyler and Scott created not just a garage with an in-law apartment, but a beautiful space where our family and friends can stay comfortably, we can use to entertain, during the season or all year around, and for generations to come!

We highly recommend Tyler, Scott, and Lake Living Consultants

Their flexibility, attention to detail and consultative skills give you comfort in knowing they have it all covered.

If you don't have the time or alternatively, if you'd like to be hands-on and involved, they will easily adapt to your requirements.

- Tom & Tanya, Great East Lake
Jun 9, 2017

Our experience with Lake Living Consultants was extremely positive start to finish!
In the beginning, they worked closely with us to plan and develop our four car garage with an apartment above. Tyler and Scott listened to our ideas, but provided us with new, interesting options that worked with what we envisioned, including where the building fit best on the lot. Estimates for the project were very accurate, which allowed us to stay within budget at the end. The subcontractors chosen were reliable and efficient, while providing high quality workmanship. The project stayed on schedule and Lake Living Consultants kept us well informed of the progress and was there to oversee and inspect the work. Tyler has great ideas and will offer an opinion on color choice and design when you have trouble deciding.
In the end, Lake Living Consultants provided us with exactly what we were looking for in quality, functionality and design. We highly recommend using LLC for any construction projects and we would definitely use them again.
Rob and Kim Caron

- Rob and Kim Caron
May 8, 2017

In 2015, Lake Living Consultants made my lifetime dream come true - a home built on my family property in Shapleigh, Maine.  Tucked in the corner of a field provides the perfect setting to watch wildlife of all kinds, stars at night and catch the breeze as it blows through our open living space!

From the first meeting to our last, Tyler and Scott provided wonderful services.  From Scott's gift with design to Tyler's natural talent with color and everything that looks great, we were more than pleased. All permits and inspections were done by them which made for a smooth process.

The father and son team took a great interest in the project from the start as was evident in deciding the perfect placement of the building.

Their attention to detail, use of the best sub contractors and materials made for a great experience!  
I was particularly impressed with how efficient Tyler was in returning calls, always there to answer a question
and help make decisions on everything!  

They were very flexible in allowing us to interject ideas as we went through the building process.

It was wonderful to watch Tyler, whom I've known since he was a little boy, take the lead in the building of our home in such a professional, caring manner.  If you want a well built home, choosing Lake Living Consultants
will provide you with a wonderful experience!

Ty, As I wrote these words, I found myself frustrated because I can't make the words express what a wonderful job you did last year!  I will never be able to thank you enough for all your expert help!

- Jane and Bob Kirton, Shapleigh, Maine
Aug 1, 2015

In 2011, we lost our 1929 vintage camp on Square Pond to Hurricane Irene.

While intent on rebuilding, we were uncertain as to how to proceed in the light of the daunting process,
the current code and zoning regulations and the fact that we live out of state.

Scott led us through the daunting process, of current code and zoning regulations with his knowledge of the
process.  

Scott was instrumental in gaining approval to optimize the siting and size of our new lake house.  

We would not have been able to obtain out of state.

Scott's knowledge of design, materials and local subcontractors allowed us to maximize the use of our modest insurance proceeds.

- Brian F., Square Pond
Aug 26, 2011

Before & After

Camp Design Before Camp Design After


View our portfolio!

How do we get started with Lake Living Consultants?


How does your billing work and how do we know how those billed hours are spent?

Get these answers & more